GambleOrbit

Advertise on GambleOrbit — put your brand in front of a global iGaming audience.Get in touch →

Head-to-head

Betway vs CrownSlots

Betway and CrownSlots operate in the same verticals (casino), so most of what follows is a like-for-like comparison.

Everything below is taken from each operator's published record — licence registers, banking pages, bonus terms and responsible-gambling pages. We do not open accounts or play, so nothing here is a claim about hands-on experience.

Links to operators on this page are affiliate links: we earn a commission if you sign up through one, at no extra cost to you. It changes nothing about the facts shown here. See our Affiliate Disclosure.

Betway

Betway

100% up to £30

Licenses
2
RG tools
7/7
Founded
2006
Visit Betway
CrownSlots

CrownSlots

125% up to €1,000 + 100 free spins on the first deposit (390% up to €3,700 + 175 spins over three)

Licenses
1
RG tools
4/7
Founded
—

Last reviewed:

Visit CrownSlots

Licensing — and the numbers to check it with

Each licence below is the one the operator publishes, with the authority that issued it and the number where there is one.

Betway

Malta Gaming Authority Strict regime

Licence number:
MGA/B2C/130/2006
Jurisdiction:
Malta

UK Gambling Commission Strict regime

Licence number:
39372
Jurisdiction:
United Kingdom

CrownSlots

Tobique Gaming Commission

Licence number:
0000064
Jurisdiction:
Canada

Betway answers to at least one of the stricter regulators — the regimes that require segregated player funds and binding dispute resolution — while CrownSlots's licensing is lighter-touch.

Player-protection tools, side by side

Checkable in a minute: open each operator’s responsible-gambling page and count them yourself. A tool is recorded as absent unless we find it. 7 tools are tracked.

Player-protection tools, side by side
ToolBetwayCrownSlots
Link to a gambling-help organisation✓✓
Reality-check reminders✓✕
Deposit & loss limits✓✓
Transaction history access✓✕
Self-assessment test✓✕
Self-exclusion✓✓
Time-out / cool-off✓✓

Betway exposes 7 of the 7 tools against 4 at CrownSlots. CrownSlots is missing: reality-check reminders, transaction history access, self-assessment test.

Responsible Gambling →

Welcome bonus terms

The headline amount is marketing. These are the terms that decide what it is actually worth.

Welcome bonus terms
TermBetwayCrownSlots
Headline offer100% up to £30125% up to €1,000 + 100 free spins on the first deposit (390% up to €3,700 + 175 spins over three)
Wageringx50x40
Max bet while active£5€5
Max cashoutNo limit€1,000 from the cash bonus, €150 from a free-spin result
Time to clear7 days7 days
Min. deposit£10€20
Free spinsNot disclosed100 free spins, 25 a day over four days
  • CrownSlots asks the lower playthrough — x40 against x50 at Betway — so the bonus turns into withdrawable money on far less turnover.
  • Betway puts no cap on what the bonus can pay out, while CrownSlots caps it at €1,000 from the cash bonus, €150 from a free-spin result however well it runs.

Banking, currencies and languages

What the two share, and what each has that the other does not.

Payment methods

CrownSlots publishes 16 payment methods against 8 at Betway.

Both (6)

Visa, Mastercard, Skrill, Neteller, Paysafecard, Bank Transfer

Only Betway (2)

PayPal, Trustly

Only CrownSlots (10)

MuchBetter, MiFinity, Flexepin, Interac, Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tether, Litecoin, Dogecoin, XRP

Currencies

CrownSlots publishes 12 currencies against 7 at Betway.

Both (2)

EUR, CAD

Only Betway (5)

GBP, ZAR, NGN, GHS, BRL

Only CrownSlots (10)

USD, AUD, NZD, NOK, BTC, LTC, ETH, USDT, DOGE, XRP

Languages

Betway publishes 5 languages against 2 at CrownSlots.

Both (2)

English, German

Only Betway (3)

Portuguese, Spanish, French

Only CrownSlots (0)

None

Published payout window

The fastest withdrawal window each operator publishes on its own banking page. It is a stated window, not a payout we have timed: we do not open accounts, so we make no claim about withdrawal speed in practice.

Betway:24 hours (PayPal)

CrownSlots:3 days (Bank Transfer)

Where each one accepts players

These are the operators' own published country lists, and neither list is exhaustive — a country missing from both is simply not stated either way.

Our priority markets
MarketBetwayCrownSlots
🇹🇷 TürkiyeBlockedAccepted
🇦🇿 AzerbaijanNot statedAccepted
🇷🇺 RussiaNot statedBlocked
🇰🇿 KazakhstanNot statedAccepted

Betway

Accepted countries: United Kingdom, Germany, South Africa, Nigeria, Ghana, Canada, Ireland, Brazil, Mexico

Blocked countries: United States, Japan, France, Australia, Türkiye, Belgium, Portugal, Singapore

CrownSlots

Accepted countries: Canada, Kazakhstan, India, Türkiye, Germany, Australia, Colombia, Peru, Chile, Nigeria, Kenya, Philippines, Mexico, Argentina, South Africa, Azerbaijan, Thailand

Blocked countries: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, British Indian Ocean Territory, Bulgaria, Central African Republic, China, Cuba, Cyprus, Congo - Kinshasa, Estonia, Georgia, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jersey, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Malta, Myanmar (Burma), Netherlands, North Korea, Poland, Romania, Russia, El Salvador, Somalia, South Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Yemen

Betway blocks the following markets: United States, Japan, France, Australia, Türkiye, Belgium, Portugal, Singapore. If you are in one of them, the bonus terms never come into it.

CrownSlots blocks the following markets: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, British Indian Ocean Territory, Bulgaria, Central African Republic, China, Cuba, Cyprus, Congo - Kinshasa, Estonia, Georgia, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jersey, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Malta, Myanmar (Burma), Netherlands, North Korea, Poland, Romania, Russia, El Salvador, Somalia, South Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Yemen. If you are in one of them, the bonus terms never come into it.

What stands out on each

Betway

Pros

  • Licensed by both the UK Gambling Commission and the Malta Gaming Authority
  • Accepts PayPal, Skrill, Neteller and Trustly
  • Welcome bonus has no maximum cashout
  • Covers casino, sportsbook and poker
  • Supports seven currencies including GBP, EUR, ZAR and NGN
  • Established operator trading since 2006

Cons

  • Welcome bonus is a modest GBP 30 with a high x50 wagering requirement
  • No cryptocurrency payment options
  • Not available in the US, France, Australia or Portugal

CrownSlots

Pros

  • Licensee, company number and licence are published in the operator's own footer: Metlait SRL, Costa Rica 3-102-911867, Tobique e-gaming licence No. 0000064
  • The welcome package's conditions are all published and specific — wagering, caps, maximum bet and excluded games are each stated rather than left to a general clause
  • The first stage needs no promo code and qualifies from a €20 deposit
  • Weekly live-casino cashback is credited with no wagering requirement at all
  • Cards are paid out, not just charged — Visa and Mastercard both appear on the withdrawal table
  • Player-protection tools are enumerated on their own page: deposit, loss, wager and session limits, cooling-off and self-exclusion

Cons

  • Maximum winnings from each cash bonus equal the bonus ceiling itself, so a perfectly cleared €1,000 bonus returns at most €1,000
  • Free-spin winnings are capped at €150 across the whole package, whatever the spins produce
  • 40x wagering with a €5 maximum bet that explicitly covers doubling bets and bonus buys
  • Jackpot slots and every EGT title are barred while a bonus is active, plus about sixty named slots
  • The bonus terms contradict themselves on game weighting — 0% in one clause, 5% in another
  • The Tobique licence cannot be checked against any public register we could find, and it replaced a Curaçao permit whose seal no longer resolves
  • Weekly cashback excludes crypto deposits and any player whose withdrawal-to-deposit ratio exceeds 70%
  • Withdrawals are capped at €1,000 a day, €4,000 a week and €15,000 a month, so a fully cleared €3,700 welcome package cannot leave the account inside a week
  • Every deposit must be wagered three times before it can be withdrawn, bonus or no bonus, and a dormant account is charged €25 a month

Frequently asked questions

Which has the better welcome bonus terms, Betway or CrownSlots?

CrownSlots asks the lower playthrough — x40 against x50 at Betway — so the bonus turns into withdrawable money on far less turnover. Betway puts no cap on what the bonus can pay out, while CrownSlots caps it at €1,000 from the cash bonus, €150 from a free-spin result however well it runs.

Are Betway and CrownSlots licensed?

Betway holds: Malta Gaming Authority (MGA/B2C/130/2006), UK Gambling Commission (39372). CrownSlots holds: Tobique Gaming Commission (0000064). A licence names the regulator that supervises the operator. It does not decide whether gambling is legal where you live — your own national law does that.

Which offers more responsible-gambling tools, Betway or CrownSlots?

Betway exposes 7 of the 7 tools against 4 at CrownSlots. CrownSlots is missing: reality-check reminders, transaction history access, self-assessment test. Count them yourself on each operator's responsible-gambling page.

Which supports more payment methods, Betway or CrownSlots?

CrownSlots publishes 16 payment methods against 8 at Betway. Both accept: Visa, Mastercard, Skrill, Neteller, Paysafecard, Bank Transfer.

Can players in our priority markets use Betway or CrownSlots?

Türkiye: Betway — blocked; CrownSlots — accepted. Azerbaijan: Betway — not stated; CrownSlots — accepted. Russia: Betway — not stated; CrownSlots — blocked. Kazakhstan: Betway — not stated; CrownSlots — accepted.

Every fact comes from the operator’s own published terms and licence records. We do not add them up into a score: How we compare. All comparisons